Art celebrations at Creative Show 2016

Posted on Friday 10th June 2016

The University of Bolton Creative Show 2016 launched on Thursday night (9 June 2016) with a showcase of student talent, prizes, music and flash-mob improvisation.

The celebration of graduating students’ work – from games design to fine art, from theatre to textiles – fills Senate House until June 25, so if you missed the first-night fun, there’s still plenty of time to enjoy the show. 

The event was opened by the BBC’s Head of Religion and Ethics Aaqil Ahmed, who received an Honorary Doctorate from the University in 2012.

A total of 25 prizes, shown below, were awarded to students across all arts disciplines. To view our students’ work, please visit

Alexander Spinks

The Mayor of Bolton, Cllr Lynda Byrne also attended the event on Thursday evening and again on Friday where she received a guided tour by Head of the School of the Arts, Sam Johnson.

Lynda Byrne

Workshops for Schools and Colleges will take place the week commencing 20 June and are aimed at offering students an insight into what studying a creative subject at university may be like. The free sessions will also highlight the different career paths Art and Design subjects can open up. To register your interest please click here.

The University will host a 'Business & the Arts Breakfast' on Thursday 23 June, which will bring together arts leaders and business experts to talk through the benefits and the challenges of working in cross-industry partnership.

Beginning at 8.15 am, guest speakers will give examples of when creative organisations, high-street brands and education providers have successfully worked together. They will also explore where collaborations have been mutually beneficial to both industries, the economy and the region. To register for the event please click here.


Creative Show Awards 2016


Animation and Illustration

Fig Taylor Award for Studentship – Evee Lees

Cosgrove Hall Fitzpatrick Media prize for the best animation – Mikey Kennedy


Architectural Technology

Best Technical Design sponsored by CIAT North West (Certificate) - Karl Robinson

Best IDP Concept Design - Argos Vulture Prize - James Jones

Runners up prize sponsored by Cumins Turbo Technologies - Chris Littlemore

MDA architectural services  - Placement prize - James Kerry


Fine Art

National Association of Decorative and Fine Arts Societies 2016 Fine Art Award for most promising artist - Liam Ainscough

Two Neo: 12 month Studio Awards, sponsored by the University of Bolton - James White and Charlotte Stockley

Two Neo: Studio Access Awards - Danii Remmer and Liam Ainscough

Commendations were awarded to Beth Cook and Susan Parkinson Jones


Foundation Degree

Year 0 Award - Julia Ogden


Games Design

Won by Team Magnolia (Lisa Culshaw, Megan Gregory, Phillip Murray-Turner and Jaymes Wheaton) for their game, "Magnolia".


Graphic Design

The McCann Award - Lucy Walker

 Adrian Derbyshire Award - Sean Regan


Interior Design

Maison IOM Prize for best presentation - Rebecca Watkinson



Two Neo: Studio User Awards (12 weeks of studio time and £50 materials) - Vincent Murphy and Becky Godfrey

Neo: Book Prize - Tolulope Sholanke


Textiles and Surface Design

Edinburgh Weavers Prize - Cheyenne Slater

Manchester Craft and Design Centre Pop up Showcase - Luke Mason, Cheyenne Slater and Abbie McAndrews

Quilters Guild Award - Robina Ullah

AVA CAD CAM - 3 days training worth £1200 - Sandrine Pilling

Great Northern Contemporary Craft Fair - Abbie McAndrews