The Research and Graduate School (R&GS) manages all research degree students and researcher development across the University of Bolton. The R&GS offers support for all research degree students to enhance their experience as a researcher and to make the most of researcher opportunities at the University. 

Other resonsibilities include:

  • setting out a code of practice for standards and expectations for research degrees

  • ensuring that these standards and expectations are met

  • raising awareness of funding opportunities

  • providing funding to support research student activities such as conference and workshop attendance

  • supporting a friendly, stimulating research community and environment

  • acting on student feedback provided by the Postgraduate Research Experience Survey (PRES).

Research and Graduate School Staff

Name 

Affiliation 

Room 

 Ext. No.

Email 

 Bethan Atkins

School/Project Administrator

G8 I-Zone

 3078

B.Atkins@bolton.ac.uk 

 Nicola Dunn

Research Administrator

G8 I-Zone 

 3615

N.G.Dunn@bolton.ac.uk 

Kathryn Gabrielides

 Research Admissions Administrator

G8 I-Zone 

 3104

K.Gabrielides@bolton.ac.uk 

 Andy Graham

Executive Dean

 F4 I-Zone

 3220

A.Graham@bolton.ac.uk 

 Dr Margaret Nelson

Reader  B2 05c

3431

M.Nelson@bolton.ac.uk

 Dr Angela Tinwell

Senior Lecturer 

C2-10 

3589

A.Tinwell@bolton.ac.uk 

 Tracy Toker

School/Project Administrator

 G8 I-Zone

3691 

T.Toker@bolton.ac.uk 

 Bilkis Yusuf

Clerical Officer (Events)

 G8 I-Zone

 3549

B.Yusof@bolton.ac.uk 

 Donna Zarei

Research Administration Team Leader 

 G2 I-Zone

 3101

D.Zarei@bolton.ac.uk 

 

Postgraduate Research Degrees

Research degrees offer you the opportunity to develop and demonstrate your ability to undertake research that makes an original contribution to knowledge in given field. As well as a Master of Philosophy (MPhil) and a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree by thesis, The University of Bolton provides the opportunity for you to undertake your Postgraduate Research Degree by different routes including, MPhil and PhD by Practice, MPhil and PhD by Publication and Professional Doctorates. Read more about Postgraduate Research Degrees at the University of Bolton.

Researcher Development

The Research and Graduate School is committed to the highest level of researcher development at a personal and professional level to allow researchers to reach their full potential. Our attention is focused on meeting research degree student requirements through researcher development programmes that are linked with the VITAE Researcher Development Framework (RDF). We offer workshops on developing researcher skills, research methodologies and to guide research degree students toward successful careers beyond the research degree. Learn more about our Researcher Development programme here.

Research Events

The Research and Graduate School organises a series of training events mapped out to the VITAE Researcher Development Framework in support of research skills development. These events are open to all postgraduate research students, and staff. Click here for our research events and booking form.

Erasmus+

Erasmus+ is the EU programme for education, training, youth and sports for 2014-2020. It includes learning mobility of individuals, cooperation for innovation and exchange of good practice, and support for policy reform. The Research and Graduate School encourages research students and staff to participate in the Erasmus+ scheme