The Board of Governors acting collectively as the University's effective Governing Body is responsible for overseeing the educational character and mission of the University with specific responsibilities for financial probity and the effective use of resources.

The Board comprises of both independent and staff/student governors who are also the charitable trustees of the University. The Vice Chancellor and the President of the Student Union are both ex-officio members of the Board. The Chair and Deputy Chair of the Board are elected from the independent members of the Board.

Governors are required to adhere at all times to the  Code of Conduct for Governors  (which includes the Statement of Primary Responsibilities).

The Board meets at least four times a year and has established the following sub-committees to assist it carry out its responsibilities:

  • Audit Committee
  • Resources Committee
  • Nominations Committee
  • Remuneration Committee
  • Ad Hoc Committee


nigel McCulloch
Nigel McCulloch
william Morris
William Morris
Rachel Hannan
Rachel Hannan
george Holmes
George Holmes
stephen Conn
Stephen L Conn
mJennifer Leeming
M Jennifer Leeming
roger Lewis
Roger Lewis
gill Waugh
Gill Waugh
Stacey Johnson
Rev Canon Paul Denby
Mr Andrew Fawcett
Mr Andrew Roberts
Mrs Kate Flood
Dr Harni Bharaj
Dr Harni Bharaj